Little Black Book Club

I had my first “meeting” for the Little Black Book Club, and it was…well, people came?  Two people. But they came! And I’m still excited about this, and feel like it will gain traction, and I’ll tell you why.

One of my coworkers also works at a book store, and passed along the info for my book club to their sales rep from Penguin Random House. The response from PRH was FANTASTIC – after filling her in on my goals and target age group, they sent me  box of ARCs for some of their upcoming YA titles for my teens to check out. She just asked that we pass along some reviews after we read and discuss them.

Not only does this appeal to my love of free things, but I’m SO PLEASED to be able to offer the books to our teens that they can read without needing a library card. There are multiple reasons a teen of ours would not be able to utilize their card (too large a fine, a family block, losing it, etc.) and getting past that stumbling block is such a big thing that I’m happy I can offer.

I’m hoping word of mouth will spread about this – like I said, I only had two teens come check it out, but hopefully once word catches on that the books are free and they’re some of the first people in the world to read them, I’ll have more interest.

It was kind of cool that, because I only had two, they could both take both of the books I had earmarked for this meeting – I paired up the books PRH sent me thematically, in case I didn’t have enough of a single title to go around; this way we could discuss similarities/differences, tone, etc. This way we can still do that, but everyone will have the same information, and I’ll be able to read along with them.

It’s been a while since we’ve been able to sustain an audience for teen book clubs – I’m hoping this is the boost we need to start back up again.

The titles we’re reading for next month are:

Don’t Fail Me Now by Una LaMarche
Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton

Leave a Reply

